North Shore (09) 486 8900
Waitakere (09) 839 0000

About us


On 1 July 2022 Te Whatu Ora – Health New Zealand and Te Aka Whai Ora – Māori Health Authority became Aotearoa’s new national health authorities and Waitematā as an entity was disestablished and became part of Health New Zealand.   

Health New Zealand and the Māori Health Authority have their own governance structures, therefore DHB Boards and Advisory Committees ceased to operate on 30 June 2022. 

Health New Zealand and the Māori Health Authority are committed to delivering a health system that is simpler and more coordinated, allowing for better and more consistent care to support all New Zealanders to live longer and have the best possible quality of life. 

 For information about the governance of Te Whatu Ora – Health New Zealand and Te Aka Whai Ora – Māori Health Authority please visit their websites www.hnz.govt.nzor 

About Waitematā

  • The Waitematā district serves the communities of Rodney, North Shore and Waitakere
  • With more than 630,000 people, it is the largest New Zealand district by population: 60% European/NZ, 18% Asian, 10% Māori, 10%  Pacific peoples
  • It provides secondary hospital and community services from North Shore and Waitakere hospitals and 30 community sites throughout the district
  • Also provides child disability, forensic psychiatric, school dental and alcohol and drug services to the region on behalf of the other districts in Auckland
  • Employs more than 6800 people
  • Annual budget of $1.4 billion, mainly from the Ministry of Health
  • Services' annual numbers:
    • 6,957 babies born
    • 119,885 emergency department attendances
    • 175,904 outpatient clinic attendances
    • 694,464 school dental treatments for Auckland region
    • 72,105 vaccinations given to children under six
    • 4,832 specialist nurses home visits
    • 174,700 radiology procedures

Ministry of Health National Health Board