North Shore (09) 486 8900
Waitakere (09) 839 0000

Research Highlights

Research Symposium 2019

Submissions are now open for the Inaugural University of Auckland and Waitemata DHB Research Symposium.

When:  2pm - 5pm Thursday 11th April 2019.
Where: Whenua Pupuke Auditorium, North Shore Hospital, Takapuna.

You are invited to submit an abstract for an oral presentation at the Inaugural University of Auckland and Waitemata DHB
Research symposium. Abstracts should be connected to the Waitemata DHB community through population, location or
contributors. Symposium proceedings are intended to be published in the New Zealand Medical Journal. Abstracts should include 
aim, methods, results, discussion and conclusion with a maximum word count of 300 words. Please submit abstracts by Friday 25th January 2019 to

The symposium includes a research poster competition. Posters must have been presented at a national or international conference
during 2018.  Poster files (PDF or Powerpoint) should be emailed by Friday 1 March 2019 to

Recent Grant Successes

Waitemata DHB welcomes collaboration with external researchers. Direct all grant enquiries to

HRC Breast Cancer Register 2018 Partnership
Dr Karen Bartholomew: Gaps in the provision of radiotherapy for early breast cancer (12mths, $64,984)

HRC Feasibility Study (2018)
Assoc. Prof. Jonathan Koea: Bridging rongoā Māori healing & medical health treatment collaboration (24mths, $219,375)

HRC Feasibility Study (2018)
Dr Michal Kluger: STRIDE - Steroids To Reduce the Impact on DElirium (18mths, $249,840)

HRC Emerging Researcher First Grant (2018)
Dr David Rice (with AUT): Anti-depressants for osteoarthritis pain: Can we predict treatment efficacy?  (24mths, $247,098)

HRC Māori Health Research Knowledge Translation Grant (2017)
Associate Professor Jonathan Koea, Developing a collaboration between rongoā Māori and western medicine ($5,000, 6 months)

HRC Pacific Health Research PhD Scholarship (2017)
Mrs Georgina McPherson, (through AUT), Pacific women navigating colposcopy services ($49,957, 24 months)


Publication Highlights

  • Notified Journal Articles 2017
  • Notified Journal Articles 2016
  • CEO publication prize winners:
    Allen, J., Blair, D., & Miles, A. (2017) Assessment of videofluoroscopic swallow study findings before and after cricopharyngeal myotomy Head & Neck, 39(9), 1869 - 1875.
    Young, S.W., Walker, M.L., Bayan, A., Briant-Evans, T., Pavlou, P., & Farrington, B. (2017). The Chitranjan S. Ranawat Award: No Difference in 2-year Functional Out comes Using Kinematic versus Mechanical Alignment in TKA: A Randomized Controlled Clinical Trial. Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research, 475(1), 9-20.
    Dixon, J., Ahn, E., Zhou, L., Lim, R., Simpson, D., Merriman, E.G. (2015) Venous thromboembolism rates in patients undergoing major hip and knee joint surgery at Waitemata District Health Board: a retrospective audit. Intern Medicine Journal 45(4), 416-22.
    Boyd, M., Armstrong, D., Zhou, L., Parker, J., Pilcher, C., McKenzie-Green, B., Connolly, M.J. (2014). Do Gerontology Nurse Specialists make a difference to hospitalization of long term care residents: results of a randomised comparison trial. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society 62(10), 1962-1967.


Health Excellence Awards

These awards showcase the outstanding work by health professionals in our district to improve the health and wellbeing of the communities we serve. Improving patient outcomes is the single most important benefit to follow from evidence-based discussion and debate on health and healthcare. The Health Excellence Awards provide a forum in which improvements can be embedded and shared.