

#### **DHB Board Office**

15 Shea Terrace Takapuna, Auckland 0622 Private Bag 93-503, Takapuna North Shore City 0740 Telephone: 09 486 8900 www.waitematadhb.govt.nz

30 June 2022



Dear

### **Re: OIA request – Elected Board members**

Thank you for your Official Information Act request received 4 May seeking information from Waitematā District Health Board (DHB) about the the following:

I'm writing on behalf of the Parliamentary Library to seek a list of people who have been elected to your district health board (DHB) since its establishment. I'm wondering if your DHB can provide me with:

- The names of the members
- The start and finish dates of their tenure
- The position they held (whether they were a member, chair or deputy chair)
- Whether they were an elected or appointed member

### Could this please be arranged by each board term.

On 5 May, we were advised by Bay of Plenty DHB that it had contacted you to advise that the Ministry of Health (MoH) held this information and the request was on-hold while you contacted the Ministry for this information. We contacted you on 12 May and 20 May to ask if you had been provided with the information or if you would prefer for us to keep your request open until further notice.

On 20 May, you confirmed you were awaiting further advice from the MoH.

On 1 June, we were advised by the DHBs' Technical Advisory Service (TAS) that the MoH would provide you with information about appointed members and confirmed that the DHBs should provide information about elected members. That same day, we contacted you to advise we would process your request and that, due to the clarification, there would be a new due-date.

Before responding to your specific questions, it may be useful to provide some context about our services.

Waitematā is the largest and one of the most rapidly growing DHBs in the country, serving a population of around 650,000 across the North Shore, Waitakere and Rodney areas. We are the largest employer in the district, employing more than 8,900 people across more than 80 locations.

In addition to providing care to our own resident population, we are the Northern Region provider of forensic mental health services and child rehabilitation services, plus the metro Auckland provider of child community dental services and community alcohol and drug services.

In response to your request, we are able to provide the attached information regarding the names of elected members to the Waitematā District Health Board, their start and finish dates and whether they were a board member or deputy chair. It should be noted that board chairs are appointed by the Minister of Health and, therefore, the Ministry of Health will provide information regarding this aspect of your request – refer **Attachment 1**.

I trust that this information is helpful.

Waitematā DHB supports the open disclosure of information to assist community understanding of how we are delivering publicly funded healthcare. This includes the proactive publication of anonymised Official Information Act responses on our website from 10 working days after they have been released.

If you consider there are good reasons why this response should not be made publicly available, we will be happy to consider your views.

Yours sincerely

Board Secretary Waitematā District Health Board

# Attachment 1

### Waitematā DHB <u>Elected</u> Board Members

Elected Board	Name	Start date	Finish date	Position/s held
Term				
	Max Abbott		30 June <b>2020</b> - resigned	Member
2019	Edward Benson- Cooper			Member
	John Bottomley	9 Dec 2019		Member
	Chris Carter	_	30 June 2022	Member
	Sandra Coney	_		Member
	Warren Flaunty			Member
	Allison Roe			Member
	Max Abbott			Member
	Edward Benson-			Member
2016	Cooper	05 Dec 2016	08 Dec 2019	
	Sandra Coney			Member
	Warren Flaunty			Member
	James Le Fevre			Member
	Brian Neeson	_		Member
	Allison Roe			Member
	Max Abbott	09 Dec 2013	04 Dec 2016	Member
2013	Pat Booth		30 June 2015 - resigned	Member
	Sandra Coney		04 Dec 2016	Member
	Warren Flaunty			Member
	James Le Fevre			Member
	Christine Rankin			Member
	Allison Roe			Member
	Max Abbott	_		Deputy Chair
2010	Pat Booth		00 5 2012	Member
2010	Sandra Coney	06 Dec 2010	08 Dec 2013	Member
	Warren Flaunty	_		Member
	James Le Fevre	_		Member
	Christine Rankin	_		Member
	Allison Roe			Member Doputy Chair
2007	Max Abbott Mary-Anne Benson-	_		Deputy Chair Member
2007	Cooper	10 Dec 2007	05 Dec 2010	Member
	Pat Booth	10 0 00 2007	00 000 2010	Member
	Lynne Coleman	_		Member
	Warren Flaunty	-		Member
	Wyn Hoadley	1		Member
	Brian Neeson	7		Member
	Max Abbott			Member
	Pat Booth	7		Member
2004	Mike Cohen	6 Dec 2004	09 Dec 2007	Member
	Lynne Coleman			Member
	Warren Flaunty			Member
	Penny Hulse			Member
	Brian Neeson			Member
	Max Abbott			Deputy Chair
	Lynne Coleman			Member
2001	Warren Flaunty	10 Dec 2001	5 Dec 2004	Member
	Penny Hulse			Member
	Stuart Jenkins			Member
	Jill Jeffs	4		Member
	Lannes Johnson			Member

# Attachment 1