North Shore (09) 486 8900
Waitakere (09) 839 0000

Health Excellence Awards

2017 Health Excellence Award Winners These awards showcase the outstanding work by health professionals in our district to improve the health and wellbeing of the communities we serve. The Health Excellence Awards are about celebrating research and innovation excellence in healthcare.

Improving patient outcomes is the single most important benefit to follow from evidence-based discussion and debate on health and healthcare. The Health Excellence Awards provide a forum in which improvements can be embedded and shared.

Oral Presentations 2018

Congratulations to all the presenters who took part in the preliminary round on April 9 & 11. The following finalists will present on Thursday 10 May in Whenua Pupuke-Waitemata Clinical Skills Centre, from 4pm:

  • Can a novel technology overcome barriers to cervical screening for Māori, Pacific and Asian women?  Dr Karen Bartholomew & Aroha Haggie
  • TextMATCH: Text message health information for Maori, Pacific, Asian and South Asian families  Dr Robyn Whittaker
  • Can an electronic system (eVitals) identify those at clinical and societal risk?  Abin Chacko & Peter Groom
  • Improving laboratory testing utilisation in colposcopy clinics  Georgina McPherson
  • E-clinics. A hidden gem behind your doctor’s referral  Dr Peter van de Weijer
  • Click, wait… Click, wait… Reducing clinician frustration with fast access to an integrated patient summary  David Ryan


Poster Presentations 2018

Visit the poster gallery to read this year's entries and vote now for the People's Choice Award.

Dec 8    Registrations closed (posters & orals)

Feb 22  Presenting with Impact Workshop

Mar 29  Poster gallery live

April 9&11 Oral Presentations (prelim) 

May 1  People's Choice voting closes

May 10  Oral Presentation Finals & Prize Giving