North Shore (09) 486 8900
Waitakere (09) 839 0000

Advisory Committees

COVID-19 update: Please note that due to response planning and implementation required by DHB management and staff during the COVID-19 pandemic, the Board’s statutory advisory committee meetings were cancelled during alert levels three and four (from 25th March to 6th May 2020). The Board continued to meet during this time as did the Audit and Finance Committee, with reduced agenda formats.

Under the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act, a DHB board has three statutory advisory committees which typically consist of both members of the public and board members of the DHB. These committees provide a key means for community voices to be heard.

The HAC gives advice through monitoring of financial and operational performance and assessment of strategic issues relating to the hospitals (and related services) of the DHB.


  • Sandra Coney (Committee Chair)
  • Edward Benson-Cooper  (Deputy Committee Chair)
  • Judy McGregor (Board Chair)
  • John Bottomley
  • Chris Carter
  • Warren Flaunty
  • Allison Roe
  • Renata Watene

There is currently one vacancy on the HAC.

The CPHAC gives advice on the health status and needs of the resident population, the priorities for the use of health funding, and the development of funding strategies and policies. CPHAC meets four times per year, with an additional two meetings convened with the Auckland DHB CPHAC.

CPHAC members

  • Kylie Clegg  (Committee Chair and Board Deputy Chair)
  • John Bottomley
  • Chris Carter
  • Sandra Coney
  • Warren Flaunty (Committee Deputy Chair)
  • Judy McGregor (Board Chair)
  • Allison Roe

There are currently two vacancies on the Committee.

The DSAC advises on disability issues. The main focus for this committee is in the areas of reviewing and advising on disability issues and policy across the organisation, and advocacy on disability issues for the district. 

DSAC members

  • Edward Benson-Cooper (Committee Chair)
  • Sandra Coney (Committee Deputy Chair)
  • Judy McGregor
  • Allison Roe
  • Renata Watene


Co-opted Committee members to be appointed.

The Northern Iwi-DHB Partnership Board has been formed between the Waitematā, Auckland and Northland DHBs with Te Kahu o Tāonui, the Tai Tokerau Iwi Chairs Forum. The Partnership Board will set Māori health priorities and oversee the effective allocation of resources to achieve Māori health outcomes across our districts.


 Rick Witana - Chair, Te Rūnanga nui o Aupōuri

Hayden Edmonds - Chair, Ngāti Wai

Wallace Rivers - Chair Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Takoto

Harry Burkhardt-  Chair Northland DHB

Professor Judy McGregor - Chair Waitematā DHB

Pat Snedden - Chair Auckland DHB



Gwen Tepania-Palmer

This committee meets every six weeks. Meetings are not open to the general public.

  • Norman Wong (Independent Committee Chair)
  • Judy McGregor (Board Chair)
  • Kylie Clegg (Board Deputy Chair)
  • Edward Benson-Cooper
  • Warren Flaunty
  • Renata Watene